SEYMOUR SIMONS Co-writer of the song “All Of You”

SEYMOUR SIMONS, GERALD MARKS, “ALL OF ME”, THE BLACKHAWK RESTURANT

Seymour Simons  was born  January 14, 1896, Detroit Michigan.  He died on  Feb. 12, 1949 Detroit, Michigan University of Michigan – bachelor of science degree.  US Air Force – second lieutenant World War I.  Detroit Michigan, well known as a pianist, composer and orchestra leader. 1920’s – wrote material for various performers such as Nora Bayes and Elsie Janis 1928-1932   radio production & booking business Early 30’s – had his own orchestra playing for radio stations

Some of his song titles were:  “Once In A Lifetime,” “It’s The Little Things That Count,”  “Breezin’ Along With The Breeze,  “I’m Just Beginning To Care,” “Sweetheart Of My Student Days,”  and his most famous song, “All Of Me,” co-written with Gerald Marks which came out in 1931

Photo of Seymour Simons postcard

Seymour Simons Postcard, originally signed by him.

All Of Me (The lyrics to)  Written by Seymour Simons and Gerald Marks
All of me
Why not take all of me
Can’t you see
I’m no good without you
Take my lips
I never use them
Take my arms
I want to loose them
Your goodbye left me with eyes that cry
How can I go on dear without you
You took the part that once was my heart
So why not take all of me

All of me
Why not take all of me
Can’t you see
I’m no good without you
Take my lips
I want to loose them
Take my heart
I’ll never use them
Your goodbye left me with eyes that cry
How can I go on dear without you
You took the part that once was my heart
So why not take all of meI

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
THE BLACKHAWK 

A dance band nightclub that broadcast over live radio the sounds of the big bands and singers of those times.  (From 1920’s to 1984 or the present) It is presently also a resturant.  Some of the  performers there over the years were:

Gerald Marks
Seymour Simons
Coon-Sanders and the Kansas City Nighthawks
Ish Kabibble
Ben Pollack and his Orchestra
Ginny Simms
Skinnay Ennis (Got A Date With an Angel)
Perry Como
Kay Kyser and his orchestra   Kay Kyser
Ralph Ginsburg
Bob Crosby and the Bob Cats (Bill Crosby’s brother)
Herbie Kay
Ted Weems and his Orchestra featured Elmo Tanner
Chico Marx and his Orchestra (Harpo Marx’s brother)
Saxie Dowell
Ben Pollack and his orchestra
Chuck Foster
Benny Goodman and Glenn Miller
Harry Cool
Hal Kemp and his orchestra
Del Courtney
Deane Janice & Maxine Gray
Al Trace
Louis Prima and his orchestra
Eddy Howard
Jan Garber and his orchestra
Ozzy Nelson
Jack Teagarden and his orchestra
Will Osborne
Les Brown and his Band of Renown
Joe Sanders
Chico Marx and his orchestra with Mel Torme
Art Kassell & here
Teddy Powell
Dick Shelton
Dick Stabile
Blue Barron
Ted Fio Rito (or Ted Fiorito, FioRito)
Bob Haggart

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jewelant.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/seymour-simons-co-writer-of-the-song-all-of-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] SEYMOUR SIMONS Co-writer of the song “All Of You” SEYMOUR SIMONS, GERALD MARKS, “ALL OF ME”, THE BLACKHAWK RESTURANT Seymour Simons was born January 14, 1896, Detroit Michigan. He died on Feb. 12, 1949 . . . well known as a pianist, composer and orchestra leader. 1920′s . . . […]

    Like


Let me know you've been here! Leave your comment in this box. (This form posts your comment to my blog pages)

