Hand Made Whisk Brooms from The Depression Era

MY GRANDPA MADE THESE

I know this because I watched my Grandpa make many brooms, and he had been making them long before I was born.  He grew the broomstraw on his farm, and harvested it to make brooms to sell to the community.  I still have the needles and equipment that he used to make them with.

Antique whisk broom

Antique hand made whisk broom from the depression era

He built a broom house where he dried the broom, and they were stacked many layers.  The broom was dried on racks that went from floor to ceiling, and he would sit just inside the door stitching them together.  The straw was dyed green blue before drying.

Many of them were sold to the local hardware store, some to the grocery store, many more just to people that asked for them.  I have a big box of them, which I inherited when he passed away, and none of them have ever been used.

He also made regular sized brooms, but I have the last one of those, and I still have it, but it is used.   I’m not sure I’d want to give it up.  He made brooms back then that were better than the ones they make nowdays.

Broom care

Do not stand your brooms on the broom end, or they will warp.  Stand them on the handle end or hang them with the broom end not touching anything.  Do not wet a natural broom-straw broom, and keep it in a dry place.

They look new don’t they?

Well they are not. They’ve just never been used.  The only place that they show any age is at the top on the metal part, where there is some light rust spots speckle.  I’ve had these brooms for over 30 years, and that was after my Grandfather made them before and during The Great Depression.  That would make them a very well kept antique.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jewelant.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/hand-made-whisk-brooms-from-the-depression-era/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Hand Made Whisk Brooms from The Depression Era . . .  I watched my Grandpa make many brooms, and he had been making them long before I was born. He grew the broomstraw on his farm, and harvested it to make brooms to sell to the community. I still have the needles and equipment that he used to make them with. . . .  The broom was dried on racks that went from floor to ceiling, and he would sit just inside the door stitching them together. The straw was dyed green blue before drying. . . . […]

    Like


Let me know you've been here! Leave your comment in this box. (This form posts your comment to my blog pages)

